Glazed and Infused

Curry Glazed Carrots over Couscous

As you know, I am an English assistant in France.  The French government pays me in Euros.  A new trend among many celebrities (just Jay-Z and Giselle Bundsomething) is getting paid in euros to benefit from the exchange rate.  While it is exciting to add my name to the list of celebrities paid in euros, a few hundred a month is still a tight budget.

Thus, cheap, wholesome, tasty grains are a staple in my pantry.  On any given night, I might be gorging on pastas, rice dishes, quinoa, bulgur, or couscous.  Today, I am bringing out one of my favorite simple, but flavorful lunch or dinner meals.

Bienvenue or Welcome to Curry Glazed Carrots over Couscous!

I made up this recipe one night when all I had left were carrots and couscous.  I had nothing else in my pantry or refrigerator.  Literally, nothing.  I spent all the previous months money on Christmas vacation with my family, and had been snacking three times a day on peanut butter, cooked rice, and yogurt or some combination of the three (peanut butter with rice or peanut butter with yogurt, surprisingly not a good combo).

I learned, however, that something can come out of nothing.  With a pound of carrots and a box of couscous to my name, I searched far and wide for what to do with them.  In his “How to Cook Everything” cookbook, Mark Bittman suggests glazing carrots in butter.  I saw the word “butter” and was hooked.  The similarities, however, end there.  I glazed my carrots in butter, seasoned it with salt, pepper, a pinch of cayenne, curry, and served it over a bed of couscous.  The end result?  A surprisingly easy to make, yet flavorful Moroccan themed dish using the rustic carrot.  Here is how I did it…

Recipe-Serves 2

5 carrots diced (cut into coins and then quarter)

2 tablespoons butter

Salt and pepper to season

1 tablespoon curry powder

1/2 cup to 3/4 cup dry couscous

1 cup vegetable stock (homemade, canned, or 1/2 bouillon cube)

  1. Combine carrots and butter in a medium skillet.  Season generously with salt and pepper.  Add 1/3 cup of water to skillet and bring to a boil.  Reduce to a simmer and cook for 10-15 minutes, until the carrots are tender. (Note: It will look like a hot watery mess at the beginning, but as the carrots are braised in liquid and that liquid evaporates, a scintillating glaze remains).
  2. Meanwhile, prepare and cook couscous.  1/2 cup-3/4 cup dry couscous will cover two people (I tend to be hungrier than most and can eat this by myself, so plan accordingly).  Put couscous and stock into sauce pan and bring to boil.  Once at a boil, immediately take off and cover.  When you are ready to eat, the stock will be evaporated and the couscous perfectly cooked.  Stirred couscous tastes like mush…beware.
  3. When the carrots are almost finished cooking, mix in one tablespoon curry powder and stir to coat.
  4. Dish up the couscous in a bowl and spoon the delicious carrot mix over top!
  5. Suffer a few more days of yogurt and peanut butter, get paid in EUROS and get more groceries!

I hope you enjoy this recipe!  Feel free to comment and make suggestions on what you did and what might work better.

Prep Work

Watery Hot Mess at the Start...

Glazed Goodness at the End

It is a DELIGHT

2 responses to “Glazed and Infused

  1. I am very impressed by the transformation! and the creativity.
    Pat

  2. Just to clarify– I left my name from my Elise response as “mom” ! I’m still learning this blog software.

Leave a Reply

