Bounty Full

A little update on the weekend, and what’s in store for the upcoming week…

I woke up this morning with a little bit of a wine headache from last nights raucous festivities (repeat episodes of BBC’s Top Gear and some kir–white wine with crème de cassis–things got crazy).  Brest decided to play nice for a few minutes, and the sun was out when I woke up.  Energized by seeing the sun for the first time in two months, I sprang out of bed and rushed out the door to the local farmer’s market.  Something must have been in the air, because there were massive amounts of farmers and customers alike at the normally meager organic market.  Maybe it was the now fleeting sunshine or the hope that spring is around the corner, it’s unclear.

En tout cas, since I normally love overpaying for fruit, vegetables, delicious sandwiches if I can, I gave myself a 15 euro budget for all of my vegetable needs for the upcoming week.  I stuck to my budget to a T and came out the other end with carrots, parsnips, beets, onions, potatoes, peppers, garlic, kale, oranges, kiwis, cheese, and lots of bread.

This farmer’s market offers me hope that fresh, local, organic produce is not unobtainable for those without a lot of $$.  These markets are a great way to get involved in farm-to-table agriculture, develop relationships with farmers, and get to know where your food comes from… hopefully at a price that won’t break the bank.

Here’s what I intend to do with my newfound produce this week.

  1. Lentil Soup with Spicy Sausage
  2. Spicy Spaghetti with Fennel and Herbs
  3. Potato Kale Quiche
  4. Pasta with Tomato Butter Sauce

To cap the post off, here are some photos from the lovely Bio-Marché in Brest!  Happy delicious eating…

Organic Farmer's Market in Brest

Scrumtrilescent!

Poireaux-Leeks

Maché and Onions

Bounty

FULL

Leave a Reply

