En Vacances (But Still Posting…)

One of the many perks of being an English Assistant are the hours (I work 12 hours a week) and the bountiful vacation time I get for working such a strenuous schedule.  After every 2 or 3 months of 12 hour work weeks, I am rewarded with2 weeks of vacation.  I started working October 1st.  First vacation: 10 days in October.  Second vacation: Two weeks in December.  Third vacation: Two weeks in February.  Fourth vacation: Two weeks in April.

Right now I am enjoying my third vacation in just about as many months.  I am spending it with my girlfriend and her Mom in Lyon, France, the gastronomical capital of France!  After a week of gourmand eating there, Elise and I are traveling to Amsterdam and Dublin, each city with its own foodie culture.  Amsterdam has a steady diet of hookers and pancakes.  Dublin has a liquid only diet–Guinness…only Guinness.

Make sure to follow the blog while I am on vacation…Take-Out Tuesdays might be on hold until I can get back into the kitchen, but I will be updating regularly with pictures, cultural musings, and a restaurant review or two!  Until next time, Bon Appétit!

Lyon has one of the BEST markets in France--Apple Stand

Who cut the cheese?

Lyon--A lot prettier than Brest

50 types of Macarons!

Literally...a miniature supermarket down to the tiniest detail. Seen in Lyon, France.

A miniature kitchen to match the miniature supermarket. Just awesome.

Legends of the Kitchen--Larousse Gastronomique and Curnonsky Cookbooks. 100 Euros out of my price range...

Escoffier

Yours Truly

2 responses to “En Vacances (But Still Posting…)

  1. HERMANO….donde esta mi hermano?

  2. Hermano is trying to find REAL coffee in Amsterdam, not this fake coffee they call “dope” in some ancient Mom circles.

Leave a comment