Valuable Lessons from “Down on the Farm” Part 2

If you thought your Kitchen Aid mixer was the crème de la crème, think again.  You haven’t seen a mixer or bread hook like this ever before–you aren’t a real chef until you have one of THESE!

And you thought YOUR Kitchen Aid was cool--Industrial Strength

I spent another weekend on an organic farm outside of Brest.  I was exploring one of the many farm buildings when I stumbled across this jem.  Welcome to the world’s largest bread mixer ever seen by man or beast!  Apparently this machine mixes enough raw ingredients for 50 loaves of bread.  That’s right.  50.  At one time.  Unfortunately, it was broken, but I had lots of fun sitting inside of the enormous bowl and imagining the heavenly smell of fresh baked bread.

En tout cas, the last time I visited the farm, I learned a few valuable lessons.  This time, I learned even more about farm life.

  1. Sheep are still stupid.  Goats are still more clever and cuter than you think.
  2. Not all rooster calls are created equal.  Some are large and in charge.  They get to sleep with the hen prom queen.  Some sound like a dying giraffe mixed with a chainsaw and a flushing toilet.  Needless to say, these roosters don’t get any action from the female hens.
  3. There is always something to do on a farm.  Feeding, milking, taking animals to pasture, weeding, checking plants for slugs, painting, cooking, you name it.  Many hands, however, makes for light work and fun.

I encourage any/everyone to get out there and get your hands dirty.  There are so many great ways to get closer to your food system than you might think.  Volunteer on a farm.  Go to your local farmer’s market.  Sign up for a CSA share.  Visit sustainable meat operations.  Get to know your local butcher.  There is something for everyone and you might have a great time while doing it!

Goats Galore

Hard Work on the Farm but time to play in the Hay Loft

Art. Man.

Always Room at the Inn

2 responses to “Valuable Lessons from “Down on the Farm” Part 2

  1. I love that first picture. And farming is definitely a lot of work! I see it in my several acre garden, which doesn’t even comprise animals.

    • I came across that machine, and I knew I had to have it! Too bad it’s broken and I hear shipping to the States is trop $$$. But imagine all of those loaves… Farming is definitely hard work, but the fruits of your labor and the resulting produce cannot be beat. And you get to play in the dirt, be outside, and nourish life, what could be better?

      I came across a great resource for young farmers that you might be interested in too: http://thegreenhorns.wordpress.com

      Thanks for the comment and happy eating!

Leave a Reply

