Believe Everything You Read…

All you need is the NYT and some booze.

In the New York Times.  I have been a known user and abuser of the NYT for my entire adult life.  Let’s just say that it runs in the family.  My mom and sister used to do the crossword together on any given Sunday, asking me for the answers to sports related questions I had positively no idea about (unless the random cycling question cropped up).  My Dad read the sports and business section voraciously.  I looked, however, at the pictures in the Magazine and pretended to find Nicolas Kristof as funny as everyone else did.  Sarcasm, he’s such a bummer.

Now, a little bit older and wiser, I actually read the newspaper.  At least the Travel, Dining, and Home & Garden sections.  Forget about what’s happening with Obamacare, I have no idea.  No I can’t read the front page, and yes I can read the good word of Gail Collins.

Anyways, about two weeks ago, a great section in the NYT Dining Section labelled the D.I.Y. Cooking Handbook promised to teach readers “kitchen projects that any cook can tackle”.  I’m all ears.  There are a lot of interesting projects to tackle, from making your own Nutella (can you really improve on the original?) to crafting a New England-esque maple vinegar.  My eyes fell straight to the boozy Vin D’Orange, a D.I.Y. version of the Lillet aperitif I am so fond of.  In honor of the no-nonsense, figure it out for yourself style writing, this post will be a pictorial of what to do.  The rest is up to you.  In Frank Rich Mark Bittman we trust.

Citrus rounds. Sweet and Tart.

1 1/2 cups of sugar makes the medicine go down

Milli Vanilli Bean

A couple sticks of cinnamon

A couple bottles of rosé. (I'm not a lush baby, I swear.)

Wodka.

Voila! Keep in the fridge for six weeks, shaking to dissolve sugar. Boom. Housemade Vin D'Orange.

One response to “Believe Everything You Read…

  1. I will certainly be making this for the summer. Refreshing boozy treats are best!

Leave a Reply

